When autocomplete results are available use up and down arrows to review and enter to select. Touch device users, explore by touch or with swipe gestures.

Yamas and niyamas

Discover Pinterest’s 10 best ideas and inspiration for Yamas and niyamas. Get inspired and try out new things.
Yoga is About More than Just Moving Your Body: How to Incorporate the 8 Limbs of Yoga into Your Practice | The Art of Living

The 8 limbs of yoga are the key to taking your yoga practice to the next level. Move past physical postures and reap all the benefits of this ancient art!

10 Embodiment Affirmations to Practice the Yamas & Niyamas

The Yamas and the Niyamas are the first two limbs on the Eight Limb Path of Yoga as found in the ancient text the Yoga Sutras written by Patañjali in 400 CE. At this time, he synthesized and organized a variety of knowledge about yoga from older traditions to create what we now hold dearly as a comprehensive guide to support one's ability to live a happy, healthy and meaningful life. Inspired by these teachings, below are ten positive affirmations I created to embody the teachings of the…

How To Make the Yamas and Niyamas Work for You in the Modern World | The Art of Living

Yoga beyond the body! Read further to understand and integrate Yamas and Niyamas into daily life to cultivate a fulfilling practice of 8 limbs of yoga.

Susa saved to Health
yamas and niyamas

Yamas and Niyamas. That sounds silly. Yamas and Niyamas are the first two of the 8 Pillars of Yoga, as written in the Yoga Sutras in 400 CE by Patanjali. The Yamas and Niyamas are ten ethical principles that allow us to live at peace with ourselves, our family, and our community. The five Yamas …

Taking the Yamas and Niyamas Out of the Bathroom - Subtle Yoga

Often, when I visit a yoga studio, I see yama and niyama posters on the walls – particularly, for some reason, in the bathroom.

How the Yamas and Niyamas can lead you to self love, compassion, forgiveness and recovery

How the Yamas and Niyamas can lead you to self love, compassion, forgiveness and recovery

What Are the Yamas and Niyamas? Here’s Your In-Depth Guide

Just what are the yamas and niyamas? Here’s everything you need to know about this sacred yogic code of conduct as laid out in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras.

Yamas and Niyamas: the values of Yoga - WeMystic

Yamas and Niyamas are essential values for a yoga lifestyle, although nowadays schools don’t teach them. Knowing and understanding these values is an essential step to understanding the whole life of yoga and its vital message. What happens is that, after practicing yoga for a while, it is inevitable

Our North Star: Introducing Stephanie Snyder’s latest course, Yamas and Niyamas

On-demand and live yoga, meditation, Pilates, and fitness classes for every level, wherever you are. $24 a month. Start your free trial now.

Watch popular Yamas and niyamas videos

Hi friends! I'm here to talk about one of my most popular lesson units, the Yamas and Niyamas. In the 95-Hour Kids Yoga Teacher Training, we dive into the principles of what to do and what not to do. These discussions and poses that we learn are not only valuable to the kids we love, but our own practice. If you want to deepen your own practice and help the kids you love, join me for the 95-Hour Yoga Teacher Training. Email Lara@flowandgrowkidsyoga.com with any questions. #kidsyoga
Participate in a 5-week Journal + Yoga Series online around the Yamas (external disciplines/social ethics) and Niyamas (internal disciplines/personal practices).
Want to learn more about yoga philosophy but you’re feeling intimidated and you’re not sure where to start? I’ve got you covered. For this episode, I sat down with Courtney Seiberling. Courtney is a yoga teacher and the author of the book YOGA’S YAMAS and NIYAMAS – 10 Principles for Peace & Purpose. In this episode, you’ll learn how to choose the right yoga texts to start, how to integrate yoga philosophy concepts into your life and into your yoga classes.
All four types of sages, rishikas, rishiputras, devarishis and maharishis - followers of Yama and Niyama) - were Angiras, Jamadagni, Vasistha, Kasyapa, Bhrgu, Atreya, Gautama, Sankhya, Pulastya, Narada, Asita, Agastya, Vamadeva, Markandeya, Asvalayana, Pariksi, Bhiksu, Bharadvaja, Kapinjala, Vishwamitra, Asmarathya, Bhargava, Cyavana, Abhijit, Gārgya, Sandilya, Kaundilya, Varksi, Devala, Galava, contd.